Choices and Trade Offs

7 02 2011

My favorite seasons of the year are unquestionable Spring and Fall.  It’s not that I dislike Summer and Winter, it’s just that weather conditions can get so severe and last for an extended period of time in these seasons.

As Linda and I plan our glory days, we have often discussed how nice it might be be spend extended time throughout the year in at least three different locations.  Beginning shortly after New Year’s Day, the idea of being a snowbird in the Florida Keys seems, at least on the surface, to hold a lot of promise for us. Returning to Southern Indiana sometime around the first of April would allow us to start getting ready for gardening season in the spring.

After the Fourth of July, an extended stay up on the northern Great Lakes until late August would get us out of the sweltering heat and humidity  so characteristic of the Ohio Valley.  We would return home in time to begin harvesting and preserving the garden bounty and then viewing the annual show put on by the hardwoods as they prepare for winter.

I think we could get use that that lifestyle–I would at least like to try it.  If we don’t like it, we can change.  The choice would be ours.

As far as winter is concerned there are only two issues that I might miss but I have no doubt we could adapt for–watching the birds at the bird feeder along with building fires in the fireplace.  I think a traveling bird feeder or two strategically placed in our Keys yard would attract the birds but I don’t know about the wood fires on cold winter mornings.  I guess everyone has to make sacrifices.

All the little things that are so special about summer could probably still happen up on Traverse Bay or Whitefish Bay. Being able to sit outside and have coffee as I watch Venus ascend and melt into the glow of dawn is something I truly treasure–some of the best “think time” I have.

The multi-location plan also cuts into the time spent with family but we would just have to make sure that we have a lot of visitors at the beach each winter and summer.

I guess we are at a good place in life where we do have many more choices of how we want to spend our time, money and our energy than when we were younger.  Of course, like most really good parts of life, it is important not to take this freedom for granted and piddle it away.  It’s a time to learn, grow and share as we experience the things that make life worth living.  I hope that Mellenkamp was wrong when he sang, “Oh, yeah, life goes on; long after the thrill of living is gone.”  That would really suck.

One of the pearls of wisdom that my dad passed on to me is that a person can do anything he wants to do; he just cannot do everything he wants to do at the same time.

I think that is a pretty good piece of advice to follow as Linda and I get ready for our next phase.

-gw-

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

